“The Climate Debate” by Donald Rapp 2012 – An Excellent Addition To The Literature On The Climate Issue

I want to alert readers of my weblog to an excellent new book on the climate issue. It is by Donald Rapp. Donald has impressive scientific credentials. His short biography is (see)

I have 50 years of post-doctoral experience. I am a true generalist. I am 50% scientist and 50% engineer. I have worked on an extremely wide variety of technical problems over the years and I have broad knowledge of things technical. I have a solid grounding in chemistry and physics and did fundamental work in these sciences for many years. In the second half of my career I worked on more applied problems, particularly in space technology and space mission design. I am an expert in requirements, architectures and transportation systems for space missions, with particular emphasis on impact of in situ resource utilization, and water resources. I have surveyed the wide field of global climate change energy and I am familiar with the entire literature of climatology. I am known far and wide in the NASA community as for my abilities to plan, organize and lead studies of broad technical systems. My services have been often sought in writing and reviewing major proposals for space ventures.

His recent professional positions include

2008-2009 Research Professor, Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California

2003-2009, JPL Consultant

1979-2002, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA; Senior Research Scientist and Division Chief Technologist, Mechanical Systems Engineering and Research Division; Retired February, 2002

His past books include

Quantum Mechanics by Donald Rapp 1971 Hardcover, 672 pages, Holt, Rinehart and Winston, ISBN 0030812941 (0-03-081294-1)

Statistical Mechanics by Donald Rapp 1972 Hardcover, 330 pages, Holt, Rinehart and Winston, ISBN 0030856531 (0-03-085653-1)

Solar Energy by Donald Rapp 1981 Hardcover, 516 pages, Prentice-Hall, ISBN 0138222134 (0-13-822213-4)

Human Missions to Mars: Enabling Technologies for Exploring the Red Planet by Donald Rapp, hardback, 520 pages, October, 2007 ISBN: 978-3-540-72938-9; two 8-page color sections

Assessing Climate Change – Temperatures, Solar Radiation and Heat Balance Series: Springer Praxis Books – Environmental Sciences by Donald Rapp, hardback, 410 pages, March 2008 ISBN: 978-3-540-76586-8; two 8-page color sections

His new book is titled

The Climate Debate.

It is available, for example, from Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

I look forward to seeing wide distribution of what is an important new contribution. His discussion of the viewpoints of what he refers to as “Alarmists“, “Extreme Skeptics“, and ‘Moderate Skeptics”  is quite informative.

Comments Off on “The Climate Debate” by Donald Rapp 2012 – An Excellent Addition To The Literature On The Climate Issue

Filed under Books

Comments are closed.