Steve Schneider [1945-2010]

I have posted this on Dot Earth – The Passing of a Climate Warrior

I was saddened to hear of the passing of Steve Schneider. He and I have interacted for several decades and I was always impressed by his openness to engage in scientific debate. Even when we disagreed on issues, he permitted my views to be heard, such as the time, in his capacity as Editor-in-Chief of the journal Climatic Change, I was able in 2002 to present a paper on problems with the IPCC assessment report. He published a companion article at the same time by Mike McCracken, and I have urged climate scientists to read both of these perspectives. Steve’s openness allowed this constuctive scientific debate to occur.

More recently, he and I participated in a seminar at the University of Texas at Austin in 2007 where we found much to agree with. This included our recognition of the need to assess the vulnerability of key societal and environmental resources to risks from the entire specturm of threats, including, but not limited to climate change. His book, “the Genesis Strategy” remains a classic and is a deserved memorial to an outstanding scientific colleague.

He will be missed.

Comments Off on Steve Schneider [1945-2010]

Filed under Climate Science Reporting

Comments are closed.