Comments On “Circling the Bandwagons: My Adventures Correcting the IPCC” By Ross McKitrick

There is very informative post by Ross McKitrick titled

“Circling the Bandwagons:My Adventures Correcting the IPCC” by Ross McKitrick

The conclusion of his paper reads

“The paper I have talked about [Ross’a paper which will finally appear in the journal Statistics, Politics and Policy this summer],  makes the case that the IPCC used false evidence to conceal an important problem with the surface temperature data on which most of their conclusions rest. In principle, one might argue that my analysis was wrong (though most reviewers didn’t), but it would be implausible to say that the issue is unimportant or irrelevant.

Altogether I sent the paper to seven journals before it went to SP&P. From those seven journals I received seven reviews, of which six accepted the findings and supported publication. The one that rejected my findings contained some basic technical errors, but the journal editor would not respond to my letter pointing them out. Nature, Science and Geophysical Research Letters would not even review the paper, while the Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society never acknowledged the presubmission inquiry. Global and Planetary Change received one review recommending publication, blocked another reviewer before he could submit a report and then turned the paper down.

In the aftermath of Climategate a lot of scientists working on global warming-related topics are upset that their field has apparently lost credibility with the public. The public seems to believe that climatology is beset with cliquish gatekeeping, wagon-circling, biased peer-review, faulty data and statistical incompetence. In response to these perceptions, some scientists are casting around, in op-eds and weblogs, for ideas on how to hit back at their critics. I would like to suggest that the climate science community consider instead whether the public might actually have a point.”

His experience is not an extreme example, but is illustrative of the experience that I and a number of my colleagues have experienced with respect to the submission of research papers and scientific research proposals. I discussed this issue of gatekeeping, for example, in my post

The 2007 IPCC Assessment Process – Its Obvious Conflict of Interest

Ross’s entire article is worth reading. I also will be posting further examples of this deliberate attempt to surpress scientific studies which refute or raise serious questions on the IPCC perspective in the coming weeks and months.

Comments Off on Comments On “Circling the Bandwagons: My Adventures Correcting the IPCC” By Ross McKitrick

Filed under Climate Science Op-Eds, Research Papers

Comments are closed.